Latest Updates

Jun 26, 2015

TPC Minutes 05/06/2015

View or Download Minutes



May 6, 2015

Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

Technical Planning Committee Members Present:

Mrs. Elquin Auala, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)

Mr. Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson

Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development

Commission (SEMO RPC)

Mr. Ron Eskew, City of Scott City

Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Mike Latuszek, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

Mr. Bruce Loy, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Larry Payne, Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee

Mr. Mark Phillips, Cape Special Road District

Mr. Jeremiah Shuler, Federal Transit Authority (FTA) (via conference call)

Mrs. Betsy Tracy, Federal Highway Administration (via conference call)

Mrs. Eva Voss, Missouri Department of Transportation (via conference call)

Mrs. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority (CGCTA)

Staff Present:

Ms. Molly Hood, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairman Bollinger called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.


The group went around the room, with each person giving a brief introduction.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda

The agenda of the May 6, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Christian.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the April 1, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Christian.

Communications from the Chairman

Chairman Bollinger stated the City of Jackson Board of Aldermen appointed Mayor Dwain Hahs and City Administrator Jim Roach to serve on the SEMPO Board of Directors.

New/Unfinished Business

Mr. Shrimplin presented the second draft of the FY 2016 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).  He stated the financial tables have been completed, and the document is ready to be released for public comment.  Mr. Phillips made a motion to release the FY 2016 UPWP for public comment.  Mr. Eskew seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Christian distributed the latest draft of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP).  He stated the draft contains the completed first four chapters, including the goals and objectives.  The Committee discussed the prioritization of goals and decided it would be better to not prioritize.  The Committee also decided to extend the MTP planning timeline to 2040.  Mr. Christian stated the SEMO RPC is continuing to review the data compiled by Steve Duke for use in forecasting travel demand.  The MTP will contain a fiscally constrained project list and an “illustrative” list for projects that are not fiscally constrained.  Mr. Latuszek indicated the project descriptions will need to have sufficient detail.

Mr. Christian stated he has received MoDOT’s 2016-2020 State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) and will add the projects to SEMPO’s Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).  Mr. Latuszek stated SEMPO will need to amend the TIP each year so it matches the STIP.  He asked Ms. Tracy if IDOT would require approval of a TIP amendment if the only projects involved are in Missouri.  Mr. Tracy responded she believed IDOT would not require approval.

Other Communications

Mr. Killian reported that Senate Bill 540 was amended and perfected in the Senate to propose a 1.5 cent per gallon increase in the state gasoline tax and a 3.5 cent per gallon increase in the state diesel tax, which would become effective January 1, 2016 if the bill becomes law.  Mr. Shrimplin stated the SEMPO Board passed a resolution supporting the tax increase.


Upon motion made by Mr. Payne and seconded by Mr. Phillips, the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:45 a.m.