Latest Updates

Jul 14, 2017

Board Minutes 04/19/17

Download .pdf version



 April 19, 2017

Jackson Civic Center – Jackson, MO

Board Voting Members Present:

Mr. Chauncy Buchheit, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development       Commission (SEMO RPC)

Ms. Beth Glaus, Southeast Missouri State University (SEMO University) (Appointed                         Alternate for Kathy Mangels)

Mr. Scott Meyer, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Mark Phillips, Cape Special Road District

Mr. Jim Roach, City of Jackson

Board Non-Voting Members Present:

Ms. Mandi Brink, Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority (SEMO Port)

Mr. Tom Mogelnicki, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority (CTA)

Mrs. Betsy Tracy, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)(via conference call)

Technical Planning Committee (TPC) Members Present:

Mr. Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson

Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development                    Commission (SEMO RPC)

Mr. Cary Harbison, Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority (SEMO Port)

Mr. Curtis Jones, Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT)

Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)

Mr. Alex McElroy, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. John Mehner, Cape Girardeau Area MAGNET

Ms. Eva Voss, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)(via teleconference)

Ms. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority (CTA)

Staff Present:

Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairman Buchheit called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.


The group went around the room, with each person giving a brief introduction.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda

The agenda of the April 19, 2017 Board of Directors Meeting was unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Roach and seconded by Mr. Phillips.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the March 15, 2017 Board of Directors Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Roach.

Communications from the Chairman

There were no communications from the Chairman.

New/Unfinished Business

  • FY 2018 UPWP – Motion to set public hearing

Mr. Shrimplin stated he has been working on a draft of the FY 2018 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).  The draft has been reviewed by MoDOT, FHWA, FTA, and the SEMPO Technical Planning Committee (TPC).  He will continue to work on the draft to incorporate comments received to date.  As required by SEMPO’s Public Participation Plan, a public hearing must be held on the UPWP before the TPC makes a recommendation of adoption to the Board.  A motion was made by Mr. Roach and seconded by Mr. Phillips to set a public hearing on the FY 2018 UPWP for the May 17, 2017 Board of Directors meeting, which passed unanimously.

  • Regional Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan – Discussion

Mr. Shrimplin stated the task order with Lochmueller Group for the Regional Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan has been executed.  Lochmueller has asked that an oversight committee be formed to develop the vision statement and goals for the plan as well as oversee the planning process.  Mr. Shrimplin will work with Kelly Green and the TPC to identify potential committee members.

Member Reports

Mr. Meyer gave an update on several City of Cape Girardeau projects, including Veterans Memorial Drive Phases 3a and 5, Bloomfield Road Phase 5, the South Sprigg Street Bridge, the Main Street Improvements, the Airport Terminal Improvements, and the Asphalt Overlay and Neighborhood Street Repair Programs.  He stated a ribbon-cutting was held for the naming and opening of Jim Drury Way located in front of the new SportsPlex.  He also mentioned the City is working with SEMO University and other partners on the installation of sculptures and landscaping in the City’s roundabouts.

Mr. Roach stated the City of Jackson is also preparing to begin its annual street repair programs as well as utility work.  There will continue to be detours downtown while work is underway.

Mr. Phillips reported the Cape Special Road District is preparing to begin its asphalt paving program.

Mr. Mogelnicki stated the CTA’s demand response vehicles will begin accepting credit and debit cards.

Ms. Glaus mentioned SEMO University is working on its campus master plan and other projects.

Mr. Harbison stated the SEMO Port is making efforts to secure funding to complete its Loop Tracks Project.  Ms. Brink added that the Port may be requesting a letter of support from SEMPO in the near future.

Mr. Killian indicated the new Missouri highway map will be released in May.  Also, MoDOT will be releasing the 2018-2022 Draft STIP for public comment in May.  MoDOT will also be issuing a notice regarding the Cost Share Program.

Mr. Jones stated the Illinois Governor will be releasing the ITEP Program.  A seminar in the St. Louis area is being planned.  He also announced that Holly Ostdick has been named the new Bureau Chief.

Mr. Christian stated the SEMO RPC is conducting a fixed bus route feasibility study for the Southeast Missouri Transportation Service (SMTS).  The development of the Perryville Greenway Master Plan is proceeding.  The RPC will begin work on the Public Transit – Human Services Transportation Coordination Plan for SEMPO in the upcoming months.

Eva noted the Missouri Governor has not delegated TIP approval authority to MoDOT at this time, although the turnaround time has improved.

Other Business and Communications

Mr. Killian discussed MoDOT’s Buckle Up, Phone Down campaign.


There being no further business, the meeting was unanimously adjourned at 2:30 p.m.