Latest Updates

Dec 8, 2014

Board Minutes 6/18/2014

June 18, 2014 Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

Download Board minutes from June 18, 2014



Board Voting Members Present:
Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development Commission (appointed alternate for Chauncy Buchheit)
Mrs. Barbara Lohr, City of Jackson
Mr. Scott Meyer, City of Cape Girardeau
Mr. Tom Mogelnicki, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority
Mr. Jim Roach, City of Jackson
Board Ex-Officio Members Present:
Mrs. Mandi Brink, Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority
Technical Planning Committee Members Present:
Mr. Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson
Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation
Mrs. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority

Staff Present:
Ms. Molly Hood, City of Cape Girardeau
Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order
Vice Chairwoman Lohr called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

There were no introductions.

Public Comments
There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda
The agenda of the June 18, 2014 Board of Directors Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Roach and seconded by Mr. Meyer.

The minutes of the May 21, 2014 Board of Directors Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Mogelnicki and seconded by Mr. Christian.

Communications from the Chairman
There were no communications from the Chairman.

New/Unfinished Business
Mr. Shrimplin reviewed the latest revisions to the FY 2015 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP). He stated that the required 15-day minimum public comment period has closed, and that no comments were received. FHWA, FTA, and MoDOT had issued comments previously, and the document has been revised accordingly. A public hearing was scheduled for this meeting. A notice of the public hearing was published in the Southeast Missourian newspaper on June 8, 2014.
Vice Chairwoman Lohr opened the public hearing on the FY 2015 Unified Planning Work Program. There being no questions or comments from the public, the hearing was closed. Mr. Roach made a motion to approve RESOLUTION NO. 2014-03, A Resolution adopting the FY 2015 Unified Planning Work Program. Mr. Mogelnicki seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Other Communications
Ms. Hood gave a recap of the two prioritization process meetings with the MoDOT Southeast District and the RPC’s for the statewide transportation sales tax. If passed, the tax would generate over $5 billion in revenue over a 10-year period. The Southeast District would receive about $380 million to be spent on projects in the district. SEMPO projects that made the Southeast District’s proposed list include: improvements to Interstate 55 (redesign of Exit 93 and upgrades to the Bloomfield Road overpass), improvements to US Highway 61 and Missouri State Route 25, the Loop Tracks Project at SEMO Port, and a bicycle/pedestrian trail connecting East Main Street in Jackson to Missouri State Route W in Cape Girardeau.

Mr. Killian stated that MoDOT has created a page on its website called Moving Forward, which contains the draft project list and a map. The public comment period for the draft list has been extended to July 3, 2014. The Southeast District is hosting several open houses in the region to provide the public with opportunities to ask questions and offer comments in person. The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission will approve the final list on July 9, 2014.

Mr. Christian stated that SEMPO and the RPC’s decided to take money “off the top” to supplement funding for maintenance of the existing road and bridge system, and also set aside money to fund a competitive grant program for transit agencies.

After discussion, the Board decided to cancel the regularly scheduled meeting in July. Staff will work with the SEMO RPC and MoDOT to continue progress on the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).
Southeast Metropolitan Planning Organization

Upon motion made by Mr. Mogelnicki, seconded by Mr. Roach, the meeting was adjourned unanimously at 2:17 p.m.