Latest Updates

Feb 4, 2016

TPC Minutes 01/06/2016

View or Download Minutes



January 6, 2016

Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

Technical Planning Committee Members Present:

Mr. Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson

Mr. Mike Brandon, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)

Mr. Tom Caldwell, Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT)

Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development

Commission (SEMO RPC)

Mr. Ron Eskew, City of Scott City

Ms. Beth Glaus, Southeast Missouri State University (SEMO University)

Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Mike Latuszek, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

Mr. Bruce Loy, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Brian Okenfuss, Missouri Department of Transportation

Ms. Tracee Stotts, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mrs. Betsy Tracy, Federal Highway Administration (via conference call)

Mrs. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority (CGCTA)

Staff Present:

Mr. Alex McElroy, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairwoman Watson called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.


The group went around the room, with each person giving a brief introduction.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda

The agenda of the January 6, 2016 Technical Planning Committee Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Bollinger and seconded by Mr. Christian.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the December 2, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Christian and seconded by Mr. Loy.

Communications from the Chairwoman

There were no communications from the Chairwoman.

New/Unfinished Business

Mr. Shrimplin reported that FHWA and FTA recently submitted comments regarding the 2016-2040 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and the FY 2016-2019 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). Mr. Christian stated he will address the TIP comments first, and any if anyone has additional comments, they need to be submitted right away. Mr. Latuszek emphasized the importance of making sure the language in the TIP is consistent with the Public Participation Plan (PPP). Mrs. Tracy requested a meeting or conference call involving FHWA, FTA, MoDOT, IDOT, Mr. Christian, and Mr. Shrimplin to review the comments in detail. The parties agreed to schedule a time.

Other Business and Communications

Mr. Okenfuss discussed the recent flood event and noted that MO-177 is still closed in one location. He also stated the second session of the Missouri General Assembly begins today, and several bills have been filed pertaining to highway safety and increasing the State’s motor fuel tax.

Mr. Loy discussed the impact of the Real ID Act on air travel. The Act was passed by Congress in 2005 and requires driver’s licenses to comply with a set of federal standards aimed at reducing identity theft and fraud, and enhancing the nation’s security. The law has been opposed by states and privacy interest groups for years, but the Department of Homeland Security has released a schedule for when airport security personnel will begin only accepting driver’s licenses that comply with the federal standards. For Missouri, the deadline is January 10, 2016.

Mr. Brandon stated the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act) was recently signed into law.

Mr. Killian reported that the states with federal authorization to establish road tolling, including Missouri, must do so within two years or they will lose the authorization. He expects there will be more productive discussions on tolling I-70 this year.

Mr. Shrimplin introduced Alex McElroy, the City of Cape Girardeau’s new Development Services Director. Mr. McElroy started with the City on December 14, 2015.


Upon motion made by Mr. Loy and seconded by Mr. Bollinger, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 11:45 a.m.