Latest Updates

Apr 14, 2015

TPC Minutes 03/11/2015

View or Download Minutes



March 11, 2015

Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

Technical Planning Committee Members Present:

Mrs. Elquin Auala, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson

Mr. Mike Brandon, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mrs. Mandi Brink, Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority (SEMO Port)

Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development

Commission (SEMO RPC)

Mr. Bruce Loy, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. John Mehner, Cape Girardeau Area MAGNET

Mr. Tom Mogelnicki, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority

Mr. Brian Okenfuss, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Larry Payne, Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee

Mr. Mark Phillips, Cape Special Road District

Mr. Jeremiah Shuler, Federal Transit Administration (via conference call)

Mrs. Betsy Tracy, Federal Highway Administration (via conference call)

Ms. Janette Vomund, Missouri Department of Transportation (via conference call)

Mrs. Eva Voss, Missouri Department of Transportation (via conference call)

Staff Present:

Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairman Bollinger called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.


The group went around the room, with each person giving a brief introduction.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda

The agenda of the March 11, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Mehner and seconded by Mr. Mogelnicki.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the January 7, 2015 and February 17, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meetings were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Payne.

Communications from the Chairman

There were no communications from the Chairman.

New/Unfinished Business

Mr. Shrimplin reported the public comment period for the proposed amendment to the FY 2015 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) has closed.  No comments were received.  Mr. Phillips made a motion to recommend approval of the proposed FY 2015 Unified Planning Work Program amendment to the Board of Directors.  Mr. Mehner seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Shrimplin stated comments were received from MoDOT, FHWA and FTA on the first three sections of the draft Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP). If anyone has additional comments, they should submit them to Mr. Christian and cc: Mr. Shrimplin.  He then distributed several examples of MTP goals and objectives from other MPO’s. Mr. Shuler indicated the goals and objectives should be presented to the public for input.  Mrs. Voss added that the four goals from the Missouri Long Range Transportation Plan should be considered in drafting the goals and objectives for the MTP.  Mrs. Brink asked that the SEMO Port also be considered.  Mr. Christian will develop draft goals and objectives and present them for review at the next meeting.

Mr. Christian distributed the latest version of the FY 2014-2017 Interim Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).  He stated the TIP will need to be amended soon to change the description for one of the Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority’s projects, and to add the City of Jackson’s TAP project.  He asked the group to review the TIP for accuracy and to submit any additional project information to him and cc: Mr. Shrimplin.  He reminded the group that by March 2016, any project using FHWA and FTA funds must be included in the TIP in order to receive authorization to proceed.  Mr. Mogelnicki mentioned the Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority is in need of a new facility.  A feasibility study was completed a few years ago, but the funding has not been available (estimated at $3 million).  Mr. Christian replied this would be included in the MTP.  Mrs. Brink stated that due to the nature of funding for ports, the SEMO Port does not necessarily know which projects will receive funding until July.  Mr. Shrimplin replied the TIP may need to be updated quarterly or semiannually.  Mr. Christian reviewed the proposed naming convention for the TIP, and stated the document will need to address when a TIP amendment is required vs. an administrative modification.  Mr. Shrimplin stated he believes that information is in the Public Participation Plan.

Other Communications

Mr. Shrimplin distributed and reviewed the proposed FY 2016 UPWP Milestone Schedule.  The group did not express any concerns with the proposed schedule.

Mr. Okenfuss reported the US-61/MO-34/MO-25 railroad crossing project in Jackson is moving forward.  MoDOT is currently working on an agreement with the owner of the railroad.  Construction may begin late this year or early next year.  Mrs. Auala added that the funding is 80% federal and 20% state.

Mr. Okenfuss explained the bill that has been proposed in the state legislature, which would increase fuel taxes by two cents per gallon for the next three years, then protect the rate against inflation by tying it to the Consumer Price Index.  He stated it won’t do everything, but it will help MoDOT maintain its entire transportation system and possibly fund some new construction projects as well.  He added that the apportionment rate for cities and counties would not change.


Upon motion made by Mr. Mogelnicki and seconded by Chairman Bollinger, the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:53 a.m.