Latest Updates

May 6, 2016

TPC Minutes 04/06/2016

View or download .pdf version



April 6, 2016

Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

Technical Planning Committee Members Present:

Mrs. Elquin Auala, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)

Mr. Mike Brandon, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development

Commission (SEMO RPC)

Mr. Curtis Jones, Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT)

Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Mike Latuszek, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)(via conference call)

Mr. John Mehner, Cape Girardeau Area MAGNET

Mr. Brian Okenfuss, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Larry Payne, Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee

Mr. Mark Phillips, Cape Special Road District

Mrs. Betsy Tracy, Federal Highway Administration (via conference call)

Mrs. Eva Voss, Missouri Department of Transportation (via conference call)

Mrs. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority (CTA)

Staff Present:

Mr. Alex McElroy, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairwoman Watson called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.


The group went around the room, with each person giving a brief introduction.

Public Comments 

There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda 

The agenda of the April 6, 2016 Technical Planning Committee Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Mehner and seconded by Mr. Phillips.

Approval of Minutes 

The minutes of the March 2, 2016 Technical Planning Committee Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Payne.

Communications from the Chairwoman 

There were no communications from the Chairwoman.

New/Unfinished Business 

Mr. Christian presented a draft amendment to the FY 2016-2019 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).  He explained the amendment is to add three (3) projects that were inadvertently omitted from the approved TIP.  The first project involves sidewalk improvements in Cape Girardeau.  The second project involves improvements to the Riverwalk Trail in Cape Girardeau.  The third project involves improvements to the intersection of Independence Street and Gordonville Road in Cape Girardeau.  After discussion, it was determined the first two projects do not need to be added to the TIP since the only figures shown are under Prior Programming.  Therefore, the draft TIP amendment is only for the third project.  Mr. Shrimplin stated that per the Public Participation Plan (PPP), the draft amendment must be issued for a minimum public comment period of fifteen (15) calendar days.  Mrs. Voss pointed out that per the Partnership Agreement between FHWA, FTA, and MoDOT, the draft TIP amendment must be submitted for review by these agencies and any comments addressed prior to releasing it for public comment.  Mr. Shrimplin indicated he will submit the draft amendment to Mrs. Voss following the meeting.

Mrs. Tracy stated it is not unusual for a project amount to change between the time the funding is programmed vs. the time it is obligated.  She added that it is the project sponsor’s responsibility to notify SEMPO staff of funding changes in a timely manner to avoid unnecessary delays.

Mr. Shrimplin stated he will present a draft amendment to the Public Participation Plan (PPP) at the May 4, 2016 meeting.  Mr. Latuszek indicated the proposal to raise the cap to 50% for a change in a project’s total programmed amount (i.e. the “delta”) for a TIP Administrative Modification is not appropriate.  The current cap of 15% is consistent with other MPO’s of this size.

Mr. Shrimplin presented a draft of the FY 2017 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).  He stated now that the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) is adopted, SEMPO needs to consider programming other transportation studies and plans into the UPWP.  He presented a list of possible studies and plans.  The Committee decided to propose a regional bicycle and pedestrian plan.  Mr. Shrimplin indicated he will present an updated draft at the May 4, 2016 meeting.

Member Reports 

Mrs. Watson reported the CTA finalized the termination of its agreement with Greyhound for bus ticketing services.  Also, Southeast Missouri State University’s transit service will run through May 13, 2016.

Mr. Christian announced the next SEMO RPC Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) meeting will be on April 13, 2016.

Mr. Okenfuss stated construction is about to begin on the US-61/MO-25/MO-34 railroad crossing in Jackson.  Also, Senator Libla has submitted a revised bill to the Missouri General Assembly for a 5.9 cent motor fuel tax increase with a referendum clause.

Mr. Brandon reported asphalt pavement overlay on the southbound lanes of I-55 has begun, as well as concrete pavement repair at Center Junction.

Mrs. Auala stated MoDOT will begin accepting applications for the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) in September or October.  She added she anticipates there will be changes to the program.

Mr. Killian stated MoDOT is meeting with Cape Girardeau County officials tomorrow to discuss the County Road inventory.

Mr. Jones reported IDOT has hired Holly Ostdick as Section Chief for the Metropolitan Planning Section.  He also announced that HSIP, TIGER, and FASTLANE have each issued a Call for Projects.  He will forward the circular letters to Mr. Shrimplin.

Mr. Latuszek reported FHWA is working with FTA to bring a national transit course to Missouri.  Details are forthcoming.

Other Business and Communications

There were no other business and communications.


Upon motion made by Mr. Payne and seconded by Mr. Phillips, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:15 p.m.