Latest Updates

Oct 2, 2014

TPC Minutes 08/06/14

TECHNICAL PLANNING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES from August 6, 2014 at the Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

DOWNLOAD 08/06/2014 TPC Meeting Minutes PDF

Text of the document follows:

Technical Planning Committee Members Present:
Mr. Tom Caldwell, Illinois Department of Transportation
Mr. Ron Eskew, City of Scott City
Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation
Mr. Mike Latuszek, Federal Highway Administration (via conference call)
Mr. Bruce Loy, Cape Girardeau Regional Airport
Mr. Brian Okenfuss, Missouri Department of Transportation
Mr. Dan Overbey, Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority (SEMO Port)
Mr. Larry Payne, Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee
Mr. Mark Phillips, Cape Special Road District
Mrs. Betsy Tracy, Federal Highway Administration
Mrs. Eva Voss, Missouri Department of Transportation (via conference call)
Mrs. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority

Staff Present:
Ms. Molly Hood, City of Cape Girardeau
Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairman Payne called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

There were no introductions.

Public Comments
There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda
The agenda of the August 6, 2014 Technical Planning Committee Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Overbey.

Approval of Minutes
The minutes of the June 11, 2014 Technical Planning Committee Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Overbey.
Southeast Metropolitan Planning Organization

Communications from the Chairman
Chairman Payne and others in attendance inquired as to MoDOT’s plans for moving ahead in light of the failed transportation sales tax ballot issue. Mr. Okenfuss replied that MoDOT will do its best to maintain the existing state transportation system based on projected funding levels.

New/Unfinished Business
Mr. Shrimplin presented an initial partial draft of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP). The group reviewed the document and discussed the need to arrange a meeting between the SEMO RPC, SEMPO staff, MoDOT, FHWA and FTA to formalize expectations regarding the content of the MTP as well as the process and schedule.
The Committee held its annual election of officers. Rodney Bollinger was elected Chairman and Ron Eskew was elected Vice Chairman.

Other Communications
Mrs. Tracy reported that Congress recently authorized the appropriation of $10.8 billion to the federal Highway Trust Fund and the extension of MAP-21 through May of 2015. The bill has been signed by the President. Until then, it is business as usual.

Mr. Overbey stated that the Missouri Governor is holding up funding for ports.
Mr. Loy provided an update on the Cape Girardeau Regional Airport. Several grants are in process for various improvements to the airport as well as equipment. He is also currently working to address issues with rice farming in proximity of the airport, which attracts geese and poses a hazard for aircraft. Lastly, the hanger that was previously occupied by Commander is now empty.
Mrs. Tracy mentioned that an Illinois MPO is in the process of conducting a regional, multi-modal assessment.

Ms. Hood gave an update on the City of Cape Girardeau’s progress in developing a proposed project list for the fifth Transportation Trust Fund (TTF 5).
The group discussed the status of the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) and decided that it should also be addressed in the MTP meeting.
Mr. Caldwell announced that Illinois has a new Secretary of Transportation.
Mr. Killian announced that the Fifth Annual Southeast Missouri GIS Symposium will be held on September 17, 2014 from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center.
Mrs. Watson reported that the Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority is still working on documents required by the FTA in order to draw Section 5307 funds.
Mrs. Tracy asked if SEMPO will be distributing funds from the new Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP). Mr. Killian replied that SEMPO representatives will serve on a committee to select projects for funding, but the distribution of funds will be the responsibility of MoDOT.

Upon motion made by Mr. Phillips and seconded by Mr. Overbey, the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:43 a.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Ryan Shrimplin