Latest Updates

Oct 8, 2015

TPC Minutes 09/02/2015

View or Download Minutes



September 2, 2015

Osage Centre – Cape Girardeau

Technical Planning Committee Members Present:

Mr. Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson

Mr. Tom Caldwell, Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT)

Mr. Drew Christian, Southeast Missouri Regional Planning & Economic Development

Commission (SEMO RPC)

Mr. Ron Eskew, City of Scott City

Mr. Joe Killian, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)

Mr. Mike Latuszek, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) (via conference call)

Mr. Brian Okenfuss, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mr. Dan Overbey, Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority (SEMO Port)

Mr. Mark Phillips, Cape Special Road District

Mr. Jeremiah Shuler, Federal Transit Administration (FTA) (via conference call)

Ms. Janette Vomund, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mrs. Eva Voss, Missouri Department of Transportation

Mrs. Kelley Watson, Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority (CGCTA)

Staff Present:

Ms. Molly Hood, City of Cape Girardeau

Mr. Ryan Shrimplin, City of Cape Girardeau

Call to Order

Chairwoman Watson called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.


The group went around the room, with each person giving a brief introduction.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Adoption of Agenda

The agenda of the September 2, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meeting was unanimously approved for adoption upon motion made by Mr. Bollinger and seconded by Mr. Phillips.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the August 5, 2015 Technical Planning Committee Meeting were unanimously approved upon motion made by Mr. Christian and seconded by Mr. Phillips.

Communications from the Chairwoman

There were no communications from the Chairwoman.

New/Unfinished Business

Mr. Shrimplin presented the final version of the FY 2014-2017 Title VI Program. He stated the public comment period has closed, and no comments were received. Mr. Phillips made a motion to recommend adoption of the FY 2014-2017 Title VI Program to the Board of Directors. Mr. Christian seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Shrimplin stated there will be two public input sessions on September 24, 2015 regarding the 2016-2040 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP). The first session will be from 2:00-3:30 p.m. at Jackson City Hall and the second session will be from 6:00-7:30 p.m. at the Osage Centre.

Mr. Christian stated he still needs project and financial information from several agencies in order to complete the fiscally constrained and illustrative project lists. He reiterated that he needs a breakdown of funding sources from each city, county, and transportation agency. He also needs operation and maintenance costs. All figures need to be projected out to 2040 with a 3% annual inflation rate. He then presented maps reflecting the scenarios used for the travel demand forecasting. He stated there were three scenarios used: no growth (baseline), sustained growth, and enhanced growth. Assumptions were made for each scenario, which produced different travel demand projections. Based on the projections, recommendations were made for new roads and bridges as well as upgrades. The maps will be displayed at the public input sessions.

The group discussed the need for SEMPO’s Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to match MoDOT’s Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). Mr. Killian indicated the TIP must be adopted and approved by March 27, 2016; therefore, it will have to be amended once MoDOT adopts its next STIP that following July.

Other Business and Communications

Mrs. Voss stated the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission (MHTC) recently approved the use of additional FY 2015 revenue funds for Taking Care of the System/Maintenance work. Mr. Killian stated the MoDOT Southeast District will send out an email requesting recommendations for how to spend its share of the funds.

Mrs. Voss stated MoDOT has posted the results of a public survey about MoDOT’s services to its website.


Upon motion made by Mr. Christian and seconded by Mr. Phillips, the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at noon.